WARGRAVE & DISTRICT SNOOKER CLUB

Minutes of the 36th Annual General Meeting held at the Woodclyffe Hostel Wednesday 12th July 2017, starting at 8pm

Present:

Darren Cubbage	Chairman
Steve Wallace	Secretary
Dominic Matthews	Treasurer
Tim Wilson	Committee
Glene Sandom	Committee

Apologies: Jason Hurn Colin Blakely

In addition to the above, there were 6 others present: Bill Wood, Steve Sears, John Scarrott, Chris Satchwill, Des McGovern, and a guest of Tim Wilson's.

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting and gave a summary based on his letter that been previously circulated to members.

Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 14th July 2016:

The minutes of the last AGM were accepted unanimously by the meeting, having been proposed by Steve Wallace and seconded by Des McGovern. These were signed by the Chairman.

Matters arising:

There were no actions from the prior meeting.

Chairman's Report:

The Chairman thanked the members for their support of the club. We are a member-run club and would not exist otherwise. He thanked all the committee members for their help during the past year. In particular, he recognised the efforts of those that were standing down (Ian Wild and Phil Warlow) and of the stalwarts who keep the tables cleaned on a regular basis.

It has been a year in which we have undertaken some remedial work to heating and water systems, and in which a web site has been created.

Treasurer's Report and Annual Accounts:

The club is grateful to Richard Arnold for stepping into the role of accountant. Dom presented the accounts, which had been reviewed and signed by Richard Arnold. In the year to 31 May 2017 the club recorded a profit of £1977, an increase on last year's figure of £470. We now have a balance of over £22,000 and will be attempting to reduce this with expenditure on a new glass cleaning machine, replacement cooling in the cellar, and improved furniture and floor covering.

Acceptance of the accounts as stated was accepted unanimously by the meeting.

Wargrave & District Snooker Club

Election of Officers:

There being no other nominations, the following Members were proposed as Officers by Steve Sears, seconded by Tim Wilson, and accepted unanimously by the meeting:

Chairman: Darren Cubbage Treasurer: Dominic Matthews Secretary: Steve Wallace

Election of Committee Members:

There were 5 nominations for committee: Jason Hurn, Colin Blakely, Glene Sandom, Tim Wilson and Graeme Blythe.

These were proposed by Darren Cubbage and seconded by Chris Satchwill. They were then accepted unanimously by the meeting.

Any Other Business:

The web site was welcomed but seems to be already somewhat out of date. The Chairman explained that there was a technical issue at present but when that was resolved then it would be more frequently updated. In particular, it is proposed to upload minutes, competition results, news (e.g. events) and beers on offer.

Action: Colin Blakely

In regard to beer, there was a feeling amongst some that there could be more of the old favourites on offer. It was explained that opinions differ in the club as to which type of beer is preferable, with some preferring a lighter style, and some the stronger, darker beers. We will endeavour to have both options when we return to having two beers on offer, but this cannot be guaranteed.

It was also noted that our healthy bank balance will allow a continuation of the renewal of cloth, probably on a rolling 3-year basis.

Club Competition results

Darren Cubbage presented trophies to the winners and runners up who were present.

Trophies were gained as follows:

<i>Pasmore Cup</i> Winner Runner up	-	Nick Pritchard-Gordon Dustin Handcock
<i>Doubles Cup</i> Winners Runners up	- -	Glene Sandom and Des McGovern Dustin Handcock and Jeff Carter
<i>Wellavize Cup</i> Winner Runner up	-	Robert Whale Tony Moul

Keith Hawkins Break of the YearWinner-Dustin Handcock (break of 41)

Date of Next Committee Meeting

The next ordinary committee meeting will be held on Monday 4th September at 8pm.

The meeting closed at 9:20pm.

Steve Wallace Club Secretary 16/07/2017

Minutes approved at 2018 AGM:

Chairman:

Date: _____