WARGRAVE & DISTRICT SNOOKER CLUB

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at the Woodclyffe Hostel Monday 8th July 2019, starting at 8pm

Present:	
Darren Cubbage	Chairman
Dominic Matthews	Treasurer
Steve Wallace	Secretary
Colin Blakely	Committee
Steve Barton	Committee
Graeme Blythe	Committee
Nick Pritchard-Gordon	Committee
Tim Wilson	Committee

Apologies: Glene Sandom John Scarrott Bill Wood David Page Tony Moul

In addition to the above committee members and officers, there were 8 others present for the meeting: James Gosling, Dave Browne, Stephen Farrow, Ray Trussler, Ian Robbins, Peter Burton, Des McGovern and Nick Thorne.

Chairman's Welcome

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 19th July 2018:

The minutes of the last AGM, having been proposed by Peter Burton and seconded by Ray Trussler, were accepted unanimously by the meeting, and then signed by the Chairman.

Matters arising:

Jason Hurn did send an email to "lapsed" members, and Steve Wallace reminded the barmen that guest fees should be politely requested from those who still had not renewed by August. There were no other actions arising from the minutes.

Chairman's Report:

The Chairman first thanked the members for their support of the club, which continues to thrive. He also thanked committee members and bar staff, as well as those who purchase stocks, iron the tables, assist at TLC days, and other sundry tasks, without whose valuable help we would be unable to keep the club running smoothly.

Wargrave & District Snooker Club

This was a year in which we managed a number of refurbishments, amongst which are the new carpet, one table re-clothed, and a new bottle fridge, as well as some more armchairs. This has affected our P&L but does not present any insuperable issues, as will be seen in the following item.

Treasurer's Report and Annual Accounts:

Dom presented the accounts in a finalised but uninspected form. Richard Arnold has again kindly agreed to inspect these gratis, and has started the process. We will announce the result of his inspection when available. [Subsequent to the meeting, we received a signed copy of the inspected accounts, which required no changes.]

In the year to 31 May 2018 the club recorded a loss of £4,161, in contrast to last year's profit of £1,705. This was chiefly because of the refurbishments mentioned by the Chairman, and also the new bill from "The Music Licence" (formerly PPL/PRS). The size of the loss was in line with predictions made earlier in the year. With the exception of the fridge replacement, the refurbishments had been undertaken by the committee knowing that it would result in a loss of this size. Even after this year's loss we retain £19,761, in line with our aim to have a balance circa £20,000 to cope with unexpected large items, such as a new boiler (the present one being ancient) or repairs to the fabric of Woodclyffe Hostel, of which we would have to pay a portion.

Margins at the bar are running at 38.7%, which is slightly down on last year's 39.1%, owing chiefly to the continued expertise of the buyers: Darren Cubbage, Graeme Blythe and others, who look out for beer bargains.

Dom thought that it would be useful to compare this loss with prior years and had prepared some comparative figures, which show that, whilst this is the greatest single loss in the last 9 years, for which he has figures, the aggregate for all of this period is still in the black with a profit of $\pm 11,618$ versus losses of $\pm 9,259$.

Election of Officers:

There being no other nominations, the incumbents were proposed as Officers by Des McGovern, seconded by Peter Burton, and accepted unanimously by the meeting:

Chairman: Darren Cubbage Treasurer: Dominic Matthews Secretary: Steve Wallace

Election of Committee Members:

During the year, Jason Hurn stepped down from committee, owing to other commitments and we thank him for his efforts on committee. Additionally, Nick Pritchard-Gordon also stood down, but only to make way for new blood, as he has confirmed that his many efforts in the areas of FM, beer quality and bar service, amongst others, will continue. We thank him also.

Wargrave & District Snooker Club

Five of the existing committee members stood for re-election, and we were pleased to see a new nominee, namely Duston Handcock. We therefore had 6 in all, comprising: Graeme Blythe Tim Wilson, Colin Blakely, Glene Sandom, Steve Barton and Dustin Handcock. These were proposed by Nick P-G and seconded by Stephen Farrow and accepted unanimously.

This means that we still have one remaining committee place open and would be delighted to hear from anyone else who is interested in serving in any capacity on the committee, as they can be co-opted during the year.

Any Other Business:

Graeme Blythe has pointed out that we could make use of one or two more barmen, to spread the load a bit more, and asks that anyone who thinks that they might be interested in this, to make contact with him. Graeme can explain what is involved, and training will be provided for anyone who is able to step forward.

Club Competition results

Tim Wilson presented trophies to the winners and runners up who were present. We are delighted to see some new names appearing here. The new competition entry forms are posted on the board. Please consider signing up as this is a great way to meet other members and competition games benefit from uninterrupted table time.

On behalf of the organiser, Glene Sandom, Tim Wilson thanked the players for making it another successful year's competition. Happily, we have some new names on some of the trophies, proving again the breadth of talent that we can boast.

We have two new winners:

- Jarno Seegers beat Steve Wallace 2-0 to capture the Brian Pasmore Cup for singles.
- Anthony Taylor beat Graeme Blythe 2-1 in a titanic Wellavize final, despite receiving a swear violation warning during the final!

This was also the inaugural year of our new doubles' competition trophy: The **Mike Gosling Cup.**

• The final resembled the 1985 World Snooker Final between Dennis Taylor and Steve Davis. All three frames went to the final black, with Glene Sandom & Des McGovern narrowly beating James Gosling and John Newton. Thanks again for the Gosling family for their generosity in contributing this cup and congratulations in getting to the final.

The final trophy went to David Page for the highest break of 44 which was made early in the season and remained unbeaten; well done David.

Hearty congratulations to all winners. Those not present at the AGM please ask the barman for your commemorative mini-trophy when next down at the Club.

Sandom

Summary of Trophies:

<i>Pasmore Cup</i> Winner Runner up	-	Jarno Seegers Steve Wallace
<i>Mike Gosling C</i> Winners Runners up	Cup - -	Des McGovern and Glene Sandor James Gosling and John Newton
<i>Wellavize Cup</i> Winner Runner up	-	Anthony Taylor Graeme Blythe

Keith Hawkins Break of the Year David Page (break of 44) Winner -

Date of Next Committee Meeting

The next ordinary committee meeting will be held on Monday 23rd September at 8pm.

The Chairman closed the meeting shortly before 9pm.

Steve Wallace, Club Secretary 8/7/19

Minutes approved at 2020 AGM:

Chairman:

Date:	
-------	--