WARGRAVE & DISTRICT SNOOKER CLUB

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at the Woodclyffe Hostel Tuesday, 9th November 2021, starting at 8pm

Present:		Apologies:
Darren Cubbage	Chairman	Ray Trussler
		Nick Pritchard-Gordon
Dominic Matthews	Treasurer	Mike Watt
Steve Wallace	Secretary	Bob Austen
Steve Barton	Committee	John Scarrott
Graeme Blythe	Committee	Danny Malone
Dustin Handcock	Committee	
Glene Sandom	Committee	

In addition to the above committee members and officers, there were 6 others present for the meeting: Stephen Farrow, Richard Ginsey, Jeff Allsop, Rory Elliott, John Stalker, and Mike Gorman.

Chairman's Welcome

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting. He explained that we had omitted last year's AGM owing to the difficulties presented by the pandemic, and that this year's would include matters arising from both of the prior years.

Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on Monday 8th July 2019:

The minutes of the last AGM, having been proposed by Graeme Blythe and seconded by Glene Sandom, were accepted by the meeting, and signed by the Chairman.

Matters arising:

There were no actions arising from the minutes.

Chairman's Report:

The Chairman thanked the members for their support of the club, which continues to thrive, in spite of the difficulties presented by the pandemic. We were forced to close our doors, or to operate a very restricted service, on many occasions during 2020 and 2021. However, with the support of the members, many of whom chose to renew in spite of these constraints, and the continued efforts of the committee, we managed to continue as an active club.

The competitions that started during 2019 were brought to a conclusion. (For details of the winners, please see a later item.) The new competitions are now underway.

He also thanked committee members and bar staff, as well as those who purchase stocks, iron the tables, assist at TLC days, and other sundry tasks, without whose valuable help we would be unable to keep the club running smoothly.

We managed to re-cloth one of the tables and will continue the rolling program of such maintenance.

The club only functions with the help of our many volunteers. If you feel that you might be able to contribute, either on committee or behind the bar, then please contact any member of the committee.

Treasurer's Report and Annual Accounts:

Dom presented the accounts for the past two years, during which we faced significant challenges initially, which were ultimately overcome owing to a rent reduction and some grants from Wokingham Borough Council.

In summary, we made a small loss in 2019-2020, due to being closed (lockdown) for the last 10 weeks of the year and would have made a substantial loss in the following year, but for the successful application for grants. Dom Matthews and Dustin Handcock were thanked for their efforts to secure these grants.

Dom's detailed presentation will be uploaded to our web site.

Election of Officers and Committee Members:

There being no other nominations, the incumbents were proposed as Officers:

Chairman: Darren Cubbage Treasurer: Dominic Matthews Secretary: Steve Wallace

The incumbents on committee were happy to stand again, in addition to whom Danny Malone was also proposed, this making the full list of nominees as follows:

Steve Barton Graeme Blythe Dustin Handcock Glene Sandom Danny Malone

The above were proposed by John Stalker and seconded by Mike Gorman and accepted unanimously by the meeting.

Any Other Business:

The darts board is now back and available for use.

Club Competition results and presentation of prizes

Glene Sandom presented trophies to the winners and runners up who were present. We are delighted to see some new names appearing here.

Brian Pasmore Cup for singles was won by Dustin Handcock, with Jerry Barnwell runner-up.

The Mike Gosling Cup for doubles was won by Jerry Barnwell and Jarno Seegers, with Andy Jarvis and Andy Vyronos runners-up.

The Wellavize Trophy was won by Glene Sandom with Nick Bartlett as runner-up.

The Keith Hawkins trophy for biggest break won by Jerry Barnwell with a break of 45.

We also held the Festival Tournament in 2019, which was won by Jerry Barnwell and Alex Hands.

Hearty congratulations to all winners, particularly Jerry, who almost managed a clean sweep!

Date of Next Committee Meeting

The next ordinary committee meeting will be held on Wednesday 26 January 2022 at 8pm.

The Chairman closed the meeting shortly before 9pm.

Steve Wallace, Club Secretary 10/11/21

Minutes approved at 2022 AGM:		
Chairman:		
Date:		